una europa

Speakers

Una Europa Talk Live on Youtube 4 November 2020, 16.00 CET



Ahmed Mufti

is a student at the Faculty of Economics and Business at KU Leuven. Ahmed currently pursues a Master's degree in Actuarial and Financial Engineering. He has previously studied at Alma Mater Studiorum – Università di Bologna and Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. In his studies at KU Leuven, Ahmed engages with the fields of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence in regards to risk management and insurance, both on a practical and theoretical level. As a part-time IT programmer, Ahmed facilitates the digital collaboration of Una Europa through the maintenance of the alliance's online platforms.



Christoph Benzmüller

is а scientist for Artificial Intelligence/Computer Science and Mathematics at Freie Universität Berlin. He was the first Una Europa Chair. Christoph received his PhD and his Habilitation from Saarland University. Further research institutions he has worked with include the universities of Stanford, Cambridge, Birmingham, Edinburgh and Carnegie Mellon University. In 2012, he was awarded with a Heisenberg Research Fellowship of the German National Research Foundation (DFG). His main research activities include interfacing the areas of artificial intelligence, philosophy, mathematics, computer science, and natural language. Currently his research focuses on the use of formal argumentation & explanation to achieve trustworthy AI systems, and in this context he is currently working for a Berlin based startup company. Prior to his academia career, Christoph was a successful long-distance runner at German national level.

Günter M. Ziegler



started his studies at LMU Munich. He received his PhD in Mathematics at M.I.T. in 1987. Since 1995, he has been a Professor of Mathematics at Technische Universität Berlin, and then from 2011 at The Freie Universität Berlin, where since 2018 he has served as the President. He is a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, of the German National Academy Leopoldina, and of the German Academy of Engineering Sciences acatech. He has received numerous awards, including a DFG Leibniz prize, an ERC Advanced Grant, the Communicator Award, and the Berlin Science Prize of the Governing Mayor of Berlin.

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon



has served as interim President of the European Research Council since he was appointed in July 2020, and served previously as the ERC President between 2014 and 2019. In 2013, he became Emeritus Research Director at CNRS and prior to this, he served as Director at The Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques in Bures-sur-Yvette from 1994 - 2013. Graduating from École Polytechnique in 1966, he went on to teach mathematics at his alma mater and obtained a PhD in Mathematical Sciences from University Paris VII in 1974. His research focuses on differential geometry, global analysis and mathematical aspects of theoretical physics and was President of the European Mathematical Society from 1995 - 1998. He is a member of the Academia Europaea, and holds honorary doctorate degrees from Keio University and Nankai University.



Joanna Zabawa-Kalinowska

is an industrial designer and cognitive scientist working as an IT expert in the field of human-computer relation, focusing specifically on the technological inclusion of the human experience. A Future Uni Lab visionary by night and global service/product design practitioner by day, Joanna endeavors to join human, technology and business aspects within one sustainable world.

Minna Huotilainen



is a professor of Educational Sciences at The University of Helsinki. She received her PhD at The Helsinki University of Technology. In her research, she uses neuroscientific methods to tackle questions related to learning, work, memory, learning and working environments, and wellbeing. She is best known for her research in auditory memory and attention, as well as for her research into the effects music has on people from the prenatal stages all the way to adulthood.

Peter Lievens



is professor of Experimental Physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at KU Leuven. He obtained his PhD in 1991 at KU Leuven in nuclear physics, focusing on laser spectroscopy studies of ground state properties of short-lived strontium nuclei. He was a Fellow at ISOLDE in the Experimental Physics Division at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland from 1991-1992. In 1993 he returned to Leuven as a postdoc of the Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO), to switch research topics to nanoscience and experimental quantum physics. He obtained tenure in 2001 and has been a full professor since 2007. From 2009 – 2017, he was Dean of the Faculty of Science. Since August 2017, he has been the KU Leuven Vicerector responsible for International Policy, LERU, and Alumni Policy.



Steffen Krach

is Permanent Secretary for Higher Education and Research of the federal state of Berlin. Between 2007 and 2012, he held various positions at the Senate Department for Education, Youth and Science. He then led Federation-State Coordination Office of the SPD parliamentary group in the German Bundestag until 2014, when he became the Permanent Secretary for Science of the federal state of Berlin.



Moderator - Elisabeth Holuscha

has more than 20 years experience in science management in leading positions within various scientific organisations. She has demonstrated leadership skills as a moderator, communicator, networker, and consultant on organisational strategy. She further serves as a reviewer, expert and speaker and publishes frequently on topics related to higher education.

